

News Release

2016 IOWA FFA AG IMPACT CAREER DEVELOPMENT EVENT

88th Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference

AMES, IA - The Iowa FFA Ag Impact Leadership Event was held at Iowa State University, Ames, on Monday, April 18, 2016. Eleven Chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event (CDE). The first place chapter for the event was the West Liberty FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructors and FFA advisors are Mr. Zach Morris and Mr. Dick Brand. The second place chapter for the event was the Montezuma FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructors and FFA advisors are Mr. Rick Swenson and Ms. Lindsey Schanbacher.

Ag Impact is a CDE that challenges Middle School FFA members to explore the importance of agriculture in our state, county, and communities. This event is designed to engage middle schools students in learning how the industry of agriculture affects their daily lives. Learning activities should focus on: agricultural literacy, career exploration, personal development, and integration of academics. The Iowa FFA Ag Impact CDE was made possible with support from CF Industries through the Iowa FFA Foundation.

The results from the Ag Impact CDE are listed below.

###

About Iowa FFA Association

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of over 14,800 student members as part of 226 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.

Place	e FFA Member Name(s)	Chapter P. O.	Rating
1	Gavin Chown, Alexis Partida, Karsyn Ruess, Marissa McMichael, Madison McIntosh, and Austin McMichael	West Liberty	Gold
2	Caymen DeJong, Mikayla Henry, Madelyn DeJong, Chiane Hartman, Maddy McKeag, and Carissa Vanzee	Montezuma	Gold
3	Jacob Beesecker, Nicholas Dittmer, Steven Ralston, Adam Deaner, and Kenneth Adams	Oelwein	Gold
	Skylar Tessum, Carissa Doran, Emily Joenks, and Kyle Goeken	Everly	Silver

Iowa FFA Association -- 2

Camren Palmer, Joseph Kalb, Luke Hamilton, Dylan Smith, Jackson Vande Vorde, and Carter Nolan	Oelwein	Silver
Meirick Huffman, Josie Popp, Noah Sletten, and Joe Sullivan	Osage	Silver
Aryanna DeRoin, Sierra Hinrickson, Ben Brekke, and Samantha Thompson	Sloan	Silver
Jonah Christianson, Maddison Dougherty, Vanessa Naranjo, Sheridan Fox, Alaina Lyons, and Jazmyn Gomez	Belmond	Bronze
Abigail Jacobsen, Alana Ploen, Madsen Lange, Mallie Boell, and Carter Bendorf	Harlan	Bronze
Riley Bell, Maizee Lindsey, Morgan Nordyke, Addison Parmer, Shira Alley, and Alaina Applegate	Leon	Bronze
Brad Sobotta, Zach Mattly, Paige Heesch, Harley Trimble, Kaitlyn Couchman, and Johnny Foss	Seymour	Bronze